Professor Eric Bateman

Emeritus Professor: Pulmonology & Department of Medicine UCT & UCT Lung Institute
<h4>Professor Eric Bateman</h4><h6>Emeritus Professor: Pulmonology & Department of Medicine UCT & UCT Lung Institute</h6>

Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Cape Town

Contact details

Tel: +27 21 406 6901
Email: [email protected]

Eric Bateman is a clinician scientist and pulmonologist, and the founder and director of the University of Cape Town Lung Institute from 1999 until 2016. He was Head of the Division of Pulmonology at the UCT and Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town from 1989 until 2012. He obtained his M.B.,Ch.B. at the University of Cape Town, and completed his MD degree at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School and Brompton Hospital, London.

Over a long career, Professor Bateman’s primary research interests have been the pharmacology and management of asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, as well as community-based interventions to improve the care of patients with chronic diseases. He has made substantial contributions to global recommendations for asthma management. Currently he serves as a member of the leadership and research team in the Knowledge Translation Unit (KTU) at the Lung Institute.

Professor Bateman has an A rating from the National Research Foundation of South Africa, is a Life Fellow of the UCT, and founding Fellow of the European Respiratory Society, a member of the Academy of Science of South Africa and the Board and Science Committee of the Global Initiative for Asthma. He is an Executive of the Global Alliance against Chronic Respiratory Diseases, and has served as President of the South African Thoracic Society for three terms. He has been the recipient of several honors, including the Alan Pifer Award, University of Cape Town in 2012 in recognition of outstanding welfare-related research; the President’s Award from the European Thoracic Society in 2012 in recognition of global contribution to Respiratory Medicine; the South African Medical Research Council Lifetime Achievement Award (Platinum) in 2013, the National Science and Technology Forum-BHP Billiton Lifetime Award for Outstanding Contribution to Science, Engineering, Technology and Innovation in 2014; a Fellowship in the Art and Science of Medicine from the South African Medical Association in 2014; and the World Lung Health Award from the American Thoracic Society in 2018 “for contribution to improving world lung health through translational or implementation research, delivery of healthcare, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease, and political advocacy.” He has served on the editorial boards of several international respiratory journals and has authored more than 350 papers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *